Pinckney Community Schools is proud to announce that a team from Pinckney Community High School competed at the CyberPatriot VII National Championship.  Twenty-eight teams in three divisions met in in National Harbor, Maryland on March 13th-15th. Pinckney was one of twelve teams in the Open Division that made it through six practice rounds and five qualification rounds to get to the finals.  Nationwide, two thousand one hundred and seventy five teams competed over the past year.  Less than 1.3% of them made it to the finals. Getting to the National Championship competition is a tremendous achievement.

The students on Pinckneys team were; Austin Eckman, Adam Flickema, Joe Mayo, Torin Meinicke, and their team captain, Jacob Rickerd.  While at the competition, the team was awarded the 3rd place prize from Cisco Systems for their performance in the Switch and Router event in the Presidents Day Open competition.

The CyberPatriot competition was conceived by the non-profit, Air Force Association (AFA) to inspire high school students toward careers in c​ybersecurity or other science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines critical to our nation's future. ​ By participating in CyberPatriot, students are introduced to an exciting and lucrative career path. In addition to learning teamwork and organizational skills that set them apart in the STEM job market, competitors benefit from direct tutelage by industry professionals that volunteer through the CyberPatriot Mentor Program.

Corporate sponsors like Northrop Grumman, Cisco, Facebook and many others have contributed countless hours of their employee’s time and millions of dollars to make this competition possible.

Congratulate these Pirates when you see them!


Good Luck in your next competition!



Congratulations to Pinckney's Unified Basketball team!

Pinckney finished in 1st place and received the Gold Medal (State Champs).


Next year PCHS will begin a new program for all freshmen called the Pirate Academy. This new program is a foundation for students entering the high school, helping them build positive relationships, grow critical skills, and develop into well rounded students. For many years Pinckney has been providing students the opportunity to be involved in two different nationally recognized programs - Freshmen Academy and New Tech High. The new program is taking the best of both programs and mashing them up into an opportunity for students to become P.I.R.A.T.E.s - students who are Problem-solvers, who have Integrity, who are Responsible, who are Achievers, who are Technologically Literate, and Empathetic.

To learn more about the program page through the linked slides or watch the video:


On March 10 Pinckney Schools will be starting the 'Read N' Give/ ReCreate Pinckney' Book Drive! The book drive will go all the way through March to allow ample time for students to bring in books if they would like to donate.

So where will the books go? The hopes in this book drive is to create a library in the soon-to-be ReCreate Pinckney building for the teens to utilize. Choose to Lead students from Pathfinder will be organizing the books for the library, with the hopes of fully stocked shelves. Although this a teen center, we will be collecting all grade level books to accommodate all reading levels.

The standards of the books are as follow:

  • Lightly used and/or new books
  • Paper or hard cover
  • All genres (minus dictionaries, encyclopedia, text books)

On Tuesday, February 24, the members of the Pinckney Community High School Symphony Band and Wind Ensemble performed a Pre-Festival Clinic on the three pieces they have been preparing for the Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association District Festival. Ed Turner, a retired music educator and Marshall Music representative, listened to the performance and offered constructive criticism to help the students prepare for their performances at Festival. This Pre-Festival Clinic was made possible by the Pinckney Community Schools and the Marshall Music Company. The PCHS Symphony Band will perform at 11:40 AM and the PCHS Wind Ensemble will perform at 1:40 PM on Saturday, February 28 at Brighton High School. Family and friends of the music program are invited to attend the performances.

SandE 2015
2015 State Solo & Ensemble Qualifiers
6 Soloists
Noah Brady, Bb Clarinet Solo
Sophia Coke, Flute Solo
Katrina Gensterblum, Bb Clarinet Solo
Julianna Welling, Alto Saxophone Solo
Olivia Welling, Bb Clarinet Solo
Anna Wilmanowicz, Bb Clarinet Solo
4 Ensembles
Clarinet Choir - Matthew Anderson, Emily Ball, Yannick Christensen, Katrina Gensterblum, Rebecca Murphy, Kara Sorek
Flute Choir - Sophia Coke, Rachel Flickema, Maren Krajacic, Taylor Nash, Casey Taft, Hava Topolski, Macie Toy 
Percussion Duet - Samantha Krieg & Jacob Holt
Trumpet Duet - Carter Bonifas & Emma Scott
2015 Livingston County Honors Band Participants
Sophia Coke, piccolo/flute
Kara Sorek, clarinet
Matthew Anderson, bass clarinet
Rachel Darling, french horn
Thomas Lawson, trombone

The Pinckney Varsity Pom Squad just returned from the "Badgerette All Star Talent Tour" at Walt Disney World in Orlando where they performed for the world!  The squad joined with other top ten high school pom teams from the Midwest to perform at Epcot, on the Beauty & the Beast stage at Hollywood Studios and in the Magic Kingdom Electric Nighttime Parade!

The squad earned a spot on this Tour in August at the Badgerette Midwest Invitational where they placed second in the large varsity division.  "These girls worked endless hours this past summer perfecting their skills and routines to be one of the top ten squads ....  and their bonus was a invite to this Disney Tour!" says Coach Susan Katon.

This amazingly talented squad that made memories of a lifetime in Disney and entertained the crowds is Taylor Antal, Cassidy Chambers, Hayley Conry, Erin Cotham, Felicity Couch, Jenna Ellis, Tori Killingbeck, Faith Klein, Lauren Labadie, Mckenna Magda, Brenna Marshall, Melanie McGinty, Kathryn McGinty, Marissa Moore, Ellen Rapp, Jenna Russell, Abby Schoonover, Emma Stafford, Riley Stheiner, Beth Strong, Madeline Strong, and Megan White.